Distinguished Service Awards

Image with LeadingAge PA Distinguished Service awards logo

2024 Nominations Now Open!

 Submission Deadline: January 12, 2024



The LeadingAge PA Distinguished Service Awards (DSA) program was created in 1973 to spotlight the amazing work of our members. We are so proud of their many successes in support of our shared mission of advancing the evolving continuum of aging services in Pennsylvania!

We encourage you to think of the shining stars in your community and nominate them for a 2024 Distinguished Service Award in one of the following categories:

Read about our 2023 award winners below!

Paul P. Haas Lifetime Achievement Award

LeadingAge PA's most prestigious award is presented to an individual member who has exemplified foresight, leadership, and a commitment to advancing aging services.  


Read more of Susie's story at https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/others-come-first-susan-mccrary/.

Leader of the Year

This LeadingAge PA award recognizes an individual who demonstrates excellence in leadership; playing a pivotal role in the overall operations leading to organizational success.

Read more of Jackie Donnelly's story at https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/the-definition-of-leadership-jackie-donnelly/.

Manager of the Year

The Manager of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding manager who has coached, counseled and encouraged others in personal and professional development. 

Read more of Michelle Posch's story at https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/natural-born-leader-michelle-posch/.

Volunteer of the Year - Individual or Group

The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes an individual or group that enhances the quality of life for older adults through volunteer work.  

Read more of Carol's story at https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/a-good-heart-carol-freese/.



Licensed Caregiver of the Year

The Licensed Caregiver of the Year Award recognizes a licensed staff member who provides excellent clinical care, while also demonstrating professionalism and leadership.  

Read more of Len Hoolahan's story at https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/a-true-professional-len-hoolahan/.


Direct Caregiver of the Year

The Direct Caregiver of the Year Award recognizes an individual who provides excellent clinical care and services, serving as a model of commitment to compassionate care.

You can also read Jamie Snare's story at https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/a-positive-presence-jamie-snare/.

Staff Member of the Year

The Staff Member of the Year Award recognizes an individual who has exhibited excellence within their role and enhanced their member community through exceptional service to staff, residents/clients, and families served. 

Click here to read more of Linda's story: https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/steady-servant-linda-plunkett/.


Innovation of the Year

The Innovation of the Year award recognizes programs and services that are models of innovation and excellence and that contribute significantly to the quality of life of persons served.

Read more about Phoebe Ministries' Spirit Alive program at https://www.myfrontpagestory.com/divine-innovation-spirit-alive/.

The DSA program is proudly sponsored by

Logo for RLPS Architects



Questions about the submission process?
Contact Megan Stedjan.